top of page
Search

I woke up from explosions... | My life in Ukraine now

Hi there, I'm 20 and I'm from Ukraine. A week before the war has started we were all stressed because of what Putin was doing. I was telling myself that he was just manipulating, he could not start the actual war, I mean we are in the 21st century...


February 24. We woke up at 4 o'clock in the morning because of the explosions. There were about 7 of them, one after another. At first, I asked myself: "What do I need to do?". I was in such a shock that I even thought it was just my dream, that I would wake up soon and realize that nothing happened.


But this was for real. That day we (me, my boyfriend, and our cat) have been running to the shelter about 10 times. I couldn't eat at all. Every time I saw food I felt like I was going to throw up. There were so many thoughts in my head. "How's my younger brother?", " Are we going to live in a shelter now?", "I don't wanna die", "I'm so scared". And there were a lot of tears.


After the first shock, I started to read the news. Nobody knew what is going on and where. We found out that those explosions were planned by saboteurs. They literary blew up our airdrome. And also we found out about the so-called "special operation" by Putin. HE was saying that there is no war and that he was just rescuing people from Ukrainians. Of course, it's BULLSHIT! The whole world knew that this was war and Putin has started it for NO REASON.


I thought this would be the same story as with Crimea. He would steal our territory and go away. And this all would end up the day after. At night we were sleeping in turn. So that we didn't miss an alarm siren. At about 3 am there was the alarm siren. And while we were running to the shelter 4 aircraft flew over our heads...


...to be continued

1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page